On October 24th, the Union was updated by the Canadian Coast Guard (CCG) as well as the Department of Fisheries and Oceans (DFO) about the creation of the new Arctic Region.  The new CCG organizational structure will now be composed of 4 regions (Atlantic, Central, Western and Arctic) with a base located in Yellowknife, NWT.  Similarly, DFO will have a new office located in Rankin Inlet.

UCTE commends CCG/DFO’s recognition of the value of the north-west passage.  Unlike the previous government’s lip service, this government is actually investing in northern communities.

The Union is hoping that this is the first step in a process that will include meaningful discussion on how best to protect the Arctic resources.